I Don’t Feel Sorry For You

I have written about this issue before, I’m certain.

I live down the street from a methadone clinic.

As a note beforehand, I don’t think all drug addicts are bad people, but I also don’t think they’re all fantastic either, and I don’t feel sorry for them, except in rare instances when it is legitimately not their fault (which is possible).

* * *

Dear drug addicts & dealers,

You make me angry, you make me afraid. As a human being, just like you, I feel as if I should have the right to be outside and not feel the way you make me feel.

I don’t like having to dodge cars, nor do I like you coming on to my property to ask if I want to buy drugs from you. Even if I did do drugs, I wouldn’t buy them from you, and while we’re at it, no I don’t smoke, so no, you can’t “bum one”.

Why did you throw that on the ground? If you’re at this “clinic”, why can’t you throw it in the garbage? Actually, why are you leaving the building with it to begin with? My lawn isn’t a garbage facility, and quite frankly, I don’t like cleaning it up. Do you have a disease? Even if you don’t, your condoms and needles aren’t my responsibility.

Why do you defecate on my grass? Are you a dog? A goat? A cow, maybe? This is quite literally the most disgusting thing I’ve ever seen in my life. Why would you do that? Are you aware that gas stations have rest rooms? Or better yet: go home.

Sometimes, you make people see red. I’m not an angry person, and I never will be, but that won’t make me hesitate in chasing you with a golf club to get the hell out of my yard. Stealing from, well, anyone, is a terrible thing. I’ve caught you a few times. I remember in the middle of the night, one of you tried to steal something. I ran outside and chased you off. What the hell was I thinking? Oh wait, I wasn’t. But I guess the joke’s on me, because now things have been stolen. You’re stealing from people who never had anything and worked their asses off to get what they have.

Why should I feel sorry for you? I want to puke every time I see you! I once went on a walk, which should be safe, and I was harassed! That’s not fair! I get to see you shooting up, and between the toes is the worst. Also, in regards to sex, do you think maybe you could find a place that’s not a parking lot?

I witness your drug deals day and night. I witness a lot of things I wish I never had to see.

Everyone has a story, but doing the things you’re doing… I’d rather see you dead than anything else.

*

This letter has no point. No one seems to care about the matter, and even if they could read it, they certainly wouldn’t care or respect it.

I ignore things the best that I can, but when it affects you directly, some heads need to roll.

I don’t feel sorry for you. If you got yourself into it, get yourself out of it. You can blame it on your family, or how someone left you, or even pain, but none of those are excuses. If they were good ones, I’d be a heroin addict and probably dead.

Nothing changes until you want it to. Nothing changes until you change it.

I will never feel sorry for someone that purposely puts themselves in a situation, then starts hurting other people because of it, be it in any way. Yeah, they’re still people, and they deserve help, but the things that are happening don’t need to be.

How do you feel about the matter?

Leave a Reply

