ChoPeaOa Bars

I had to give it an interesting name, right? *cough* It just stands for chocolate-peanutbutter-oatmeal. Not so exciting.

1512588_10151884446276430_2008375149_n

I haven’t written since January something, so it’s been a while, but life sometimes gets the better of you. I’ve been experimenting with recipes and have had a lot of success (as well as some failure), and I remembered I had these photos on my phone (so excuse the quality!) that I took along the way for this, so I thought I’d share. I think I was waiting to show you what a cut piece look like… they got eaten too quickly (6 times…), maybe next time. Scratch that, apparently I did have a picture, it’s just not the best, and I decided I wanted to use a weird frame… oh well, you get the gist for now.

Chocolate and peanut butter, anyone?

What do you need, what do you need?

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups quick oats + a bit
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • ½ cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (I usually have semi-sweet on hand and it’s delicious, but milk would probably be better)
  • 1 cup peanut butter (use whatever you want, I just wouldn’t suggest a natural one, as they’re very oily)

You know, it’s been very windy here the past few days. The rest of North America seems to have snow and ice, and all sorts of dreadful weather. Here, here it’s just been windy and rainy. We actually got hail a few days ago, that was neat.

What to do, what to do?

  • Grab a 22x33cm (9x13in) pan and grease it. Butter it, oil it, spray it, put parchment paper in there… whatever you prefer to do.

IMG_20140121_210856

  • In a large bowl, mix together the oats, butter, and sugars. Next time I make these, I want to try adding honey instead of so much sugar, not just because it’s sugar, but because honey is delicious. It should be kinda crumbly.

IMG_20140121_211641

  • After you mix it, you’re going to want to press it flat into your pan. I like to use the back of a spoon

IMG_20140121_212223

  • Bake it at 180°C (350°F) for about 15 minutes, or until it’s golden brown (err, more golden brown?).
  • As that’s baking, melt your chocolate and peanut butter. It doesn’t really matter what method you use. You can melt them in a microwave, a double broiler, or if you’re like me, use a bowl over a pot of boiling water, just remember: don’t let the water touch the bowl!

IMG_20140121_213834

  • After everything melts, your result should look something like the picture above.
  • After your oat mixture comes out of the oven, you’re going to want to spread the chocolate mixture over it, as evenly as possible. I like to let it cool on the counter for a bit, then set the pan in the fridge. If your pan is still really warm, I suggest using a hot pad before you put it in your fridge. I’ve found what works best is letting this set at least 12 hours, so I tend to make it after dinner and leave it in the fridge until morning, which is usually enough.

And… there you have it. They’re pretty simple to make, easy to store, and a great snack… just don’t eat too many, they’re incredibly rich. 😉

Enjoy, and happy baking!

Leave a Reply

