Christmas Party

My Mom has been with the same company for many a year now, and my Dad started working with them this year, getting hired full-time after his trip to the Yukon. Almost every year, they have a Christmas party, and since there’s 2 of them working for the company now, that means there’s 2 extra spots… so my parents invited the Boyfriend and I! 🙂

I rarely have excuses to dress up, so this was a real treat. I wore one of my favourite dresses: a white and black strapless, with these nice grey boots I found that actually worked on my feet! I did my makeup (which lasted most of the night), gave myself bangs again (snip, snip, snip…), and wore some of my favourite perfume.

We had a bunch of people to pick up, so we went to get them. We got Linda, and two people I’d never met before. I liked them both, which is odd considering I hate everyone! Ha!

After leaving the City of Abb, we went to get the Boyfriend! He wasn’t lying when he said he cut his hair, lol. But I was happy, he made a good attempt at dressing nice. He looked pretty snazzy. Okay, he looked pretty damn hott if you ask me. I hadn’t seen him in over a month, so just the fact I could hold his hand made me feel happy.

We got to the place (after a lot of freeeeaky conversation)  and I was already weirded out. I had never been to a Hilton hotel before. Ever. Even the main lobby is fancy. What the hell? Am I in the right place? Well, I guess I was dressed properly, but holy! We were all dressed pretty snazzily. Seeing my Dad in a suit and my Mum in a dress kind of blows my mind.

So we went in… hello ballroom!
First thing I do? Look up.

IMG_20131201_163412

There is a chandelier. A freakin’. Chandelier.

I suppose this is why they call it the “Crystal Ballroom”, the lights are crystal.

We sat down at a table, they sat 10. There was my parents, Linda, the Boyfriend and I, the two never-met-before people, two other people I’d never met before, and Lorraine. There was some conversation that went on, but it was mostly amongst ourselves. My Dad kept disappearing and being social… did I just type that? My Dad hates everyone! It made me laugh! The Boyfriend and I ended up talking a lot, which is something I needed. I talked to Linda a lot too, as well as the husband of the never-met before people. He was pretty cool.

We each got 3 drink tickets. At least, would have… if your father didn’t steal yours! 
I’ve never been to a club, the only time I ever went to a bar was for my 19th birthday, so I was really unsure of what to get. They have names for things? Usually it’s “a little of this, a little of that, oooh, that looks good, add that too!” I got a great Asian lady that made me drinks throughout the night though. I didn’t catch her name, but she kept me… hydrated. It was her “specialty”.

IMG_20131201_163307

Firstly, there’s cloth napkins… CLOTH FREAKIN’ NAPKINS!!!!
It was a weird mixed drink. I know they make them elsewhere, but I was paying attention so I could make it myself! It has some vodka (they were using Smirnoff), Bacardi, and Lambs, then cranberry juice and orange juice. My goodness, it was delicious… and I’m sure it got me quite, err, what’s the word? Oh yeah, intoxicated. Didn’t even realize until I went to get up. And people kept giving me drink tickets, so instead of the 3 2 that I had, I ended up having 5 or 6 of these bad boys, and that’s not including the wine I got with dinner. 

Don’t ask the Boyfriend about it, heeeee said I was slurring my words, but I tend to disagree!

Every table had numbers, and ours was high, or low, depending on how you look at it. We originally had the number 25, but they made a person from each table go up to play musical chairs to see who ate first, and our person got out early on. So now instead of 25, we were the 26th to go.

It was a buffet style with an assortment of foods; my favourite were the prime rib and rice pilaf. There was all sorts of neat stuff: buns and butter balls (they were so NEAT looking), salads including potato with my favourite purpley blue potatoes, muscles and shrimp, cheeses and cold-cuts, ravioli, salmon and mackerel, prime rib, roasted potatoes, and rice… there was a lot, that doesn’t even begin to describe what was there.

I didn’t take many pictures because I was having a good time… and all of them were with my phone because even though I brought my good camera, I didn’t want to keep taking it out.

After dinner was dessert. Holy moly, dessert. There was so much to choose from! Fruits and puddings, brownies and cookies, cakes and pies… mmmm, dessert. It took a lot of work to make room for these delicious goodies. The Boyfriend didn’t eat any ’cause he’s not much of a cake eater… he likes Jell-O!

IMG_20131201_163444

Sooo good. My favourite was the mint chocolate one. Actually no, it was the one that was already partially eaten. Bwuahaha! The one lying down was ucky!

It was so bizarre having people waiting on you too. They got out of your way, even if they were busy. They cleared your dishes without being asked… am I the only one that said “thank you”? I can’t help it! I’m polite!

Eventually, the entertainment had arrived. We got to watch a hypnotist. I’m usually really good with figuring out what they’re doing and so on, but I was a bit intoxicated by that point, so I wasn’t paying much attention. Some of it was fun. There was one part where every time an Austin Powers song played, a man would get up, put a poncho on thinking it was an invisible cloak, and go find something red and stare at it thinking it was a bad guy. I’m not sure it was real, despite believing in crazy things. I know there’s illusions to that stuff, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Neat though.

Afterwards, there were prize draws. My Dad won one automatically, having a yellow ticket. Gift cards always come in handy.

Soon after, there was dancing. I told my parentals that they should dance! They didn’t at first, but a slow song came on, and my Dad drug my Mum up there. I laughed… then got dragged up for laughing. Thanks.

I… can’t dance. I wish I could, but I can’t. I’ve never slow-danced with someone (at least, I never HAD), and I just kept laughing. I didn’t know where to put my hands or my head or anything, so I just kept laughing every time I screwed up, lol. But it was nice. Now I can say I’ve officially danced with someone (who isn’t Tie Guy, thanks Friendly Giant), but I think I’d like to try again when I’m slightly more… sober.

By that point, it was 11 something at night, and most of my group was ready to leave. It isn’t as though we live down the street, we live a bit away. It was going to take longer with it raining and having to drop people off.

On the way home, I got to cuddle up to my beau. I’m pretty sure kissing him is amazing. Now there’s something I missed doing… that’s an incredibly weird statement coming from S.
I hope I get to see him more. Little P too.

Well, I’ll leave you with a picture of me and the Boyfriend.

IMG_20131201_005544
♥♥♥♥

Ahem… evil natural blonde hair!!!!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

