D&D Night – Chocolate Cupcakes & Peanut Butter Frosting

Are you noticing a theme here? 😉

IMG_20131123_162811

Our D&D nights are already sporadic. People working here, events going on there… but our friends are moving at the end of the month, so we decided to have another night before that happened. I got bored and decided to make something.

So here we go… Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting!

For the cake…
*Use any chocolate cupcake/cake batter you prefer!*
Ingredients: 

  • 1 ⅓ cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ⅛ tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 ½ cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ¾ tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk

Directions:

Step 1. Preheat oven to 180°C (350°F). Line a muffin pan with papers. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa, and salt. Set aside.

Step 2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (it’s not going to be like normal, as this is a weird recipe). Add the eggs one at a time, beating well, then stir in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture in intervals with milk and beat well. Fill cupcake liners ¾ of the way full.

Step 3. Bake for 15-20 minutes (I ended up baking for 22) – ’til toothpick comes out clean.

Yield: 18 cupcakes.

*I found this recipe and tried it. It’s alright, but not the greatest. I don’t think I’ll be using it again, it’s a bit dry, it’s just what I used.*

For the frosting…
Ingredients:

  • 3 cup icing sugar
  • 6 Tbsp creamy peanut butter
  • 3 Tbsp milk (you may need more!)
  • *Optional: Instead of using that 3 Tbsp of milk, we ended up using 2 “and a bit” of milk, and adding vanilla in the mix to make that 3 Tbsp of liquid.*

Ice your cupcakes and eat! I added some chocolate sprinkles and Reese’s minis (I must love my friends, because I don’t like sharing my Reese’s!).

They’re incredibly rich. I ate one and was like uuuuuuuuu, comaaaaaaa. So think of that when you make them!

Enjoy! Time for D&D!
Oh crap, I need to find my dice!

IMG_20131123_164717

8 Comments

  1. Pingback: 11.23.2013 | The Ramblings of a Bipolar Girl

Leave a Reply

