Thanksgiving

For those unaware, Canada does celebrate Thanksgiving. It’s generally celebrated on the second Monday of October, but my family has always celebrated on the Sunday. Originally, it was celebrated in late October/early November (with the harvest). After WWI, Armistice Day (now Remembrance Day) and Thanksgiving were to be celebrated on the same day; however, they felt like they should be different days, so now we celebrate on the second Monday of October.

thanksgiving-charlie-brown-snoopy
(Thank you Mr. Schulz!)

I like history, let’s have some fun, shall we?

  • Many relate Thanksgiving to the United States, but long before Europeans set foot in North America there were celebrations of thanks and harvests in Europe.
  • We can trace Thanksgiving back to 1578 when Martin Frobisher (from England) voyaged to find the Northwest Passage (sea route connecting the Pacific and Atlantic). They experienced freak storms and ice, losing a ship in their trek. When they arrived in what’s now known as Newfoundland, him and his men gave thanks for surviving such a treacherous journey.
  • With the aforementioned fact, it shows that Thanksgiving was celebrated here 43 years before the pilgrims landed in Massachusetts!
  • Why is Thanksgiving in Canada in October, otherwise? We’re farther north. Our crops tend to be ready in October, and it’s more about giving thanks for a bountiful harvest than it is a bunch of slaughtering pilgrims.

A lot of people view Thanksgiving as a time for food and that’s all, but it’s so much more than that.

I get so upset when people have friends with nowhere to go and families turn them away. Thanksgiving isn’t a time only for family, it’s for everyone. My family has always been incredibly open about that. If you don’t have anywhere to go, you’re coming over for dinner and entertainment!

This year, there was my Mom, Dad, Sister, Brother, W, Artist, me, Boyfriend, Little P, Tophat, Mistress, Tim, and even my parents’ neighbours showed up for a little while. There was supposed to be more people that showed up, but they didn’t make it for whatever reason.

We like to cook. There was two turkeys, a ham, potatoes, brussel sprouts, broccoli, honeyed carrots, stuffing, cranberry sauce Mistress and I made, and homemade buns… oh, and pie. I’m glad there was so much food, it means I get to eat leftovers! Yum, yum.

But it isn’t all about the food… I got to spend time with people who matter to me…

What am I thankful for?

  • A wonderful and supportive family.
  • Friends I can be myself with.
  • A boyfriend that loves me.
  • Freedom…
  • Being able to walk.
  • Having everything that I need.

I’m thankful for a lot, I only mentioned a few (and quite vague) points. I reflect often.

This past year has been nothing but change, and it’s been, more than likely, the best change I’ve ever had in my entire life. I don’t always act like it, and I don’t always notice everything (who does?), but I’m thankful for everything, big and small. And to anyone that’s made such a positive impact in my life… I love you! You make life worth living, even when I don’t want to anymore.

What are you thankful for?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

