National Coming Out Day

While I realize it’s almost midnight where I am, I haven’t felt like writing until now (it’ll probably be after midnight when this gets published :()

How many of you support those who are LGBTQ? I’m one of them.

rainbow-flag

(Photo from Google images. Thank you whoever took it!)

Most would say that they’re “tolerant”, but me? I just like to say I’m happy. Don’t wrong me and I won’t wrong you. πŸ™‚

What is there to be “tolerant” of? The actual definition of the word does make sense, but the way people tend to use it seems to be wrong.Β I have many friends that are part of the community; heck, even I’d be considered part of the community. It is what it is.

I remember the first time someone came out to me. I remember just saying, “I know” and smiling. I remember, also, when another did it and all I said was “cool”. It isn’t that I’m insensitive to the fact, it’s… what else can I say? I’ll always be there as a support, and I’ll always be there as a friend. Just because you’re _____, doesn’t mean I’m not going to like you! It’s really none of my business, but I’m glad that you trust me enough to share! πŸ™‚

I think every day should be “coming out day”. Why not?

There’s always going to be people that are nasty and hateful towards us. There is always somebody out there that doesn’t like us, whether it’s that we have a certain orientation, we’re too fat, too skinny, our skin is too red, etc. And the pain grows when you don’t have the support system that you need or a family that wants you around (that one in particular). But there’s always going to be people “like us”. If you find someone that you talk to online, heck, go for it! If you have a close friend, go for it! But I know it’s difficult.

I feel lucky at times. I’m in Canada, and while not everyone is tolerant (there’s that word again!) or accepting, marriage is legal, and it’s generally accepted. I wish everywhere in the world could be like that. Yes, I’m aware that nothing is perfect here, but it isn’t perfect anywhere, it’s just a lot better than it could be.

I’d never heard of this “day” before, but I’m glad it exists. If it helps just that one person come out and feel better about themselves… then I’m glad it helped them! Even if they don’t understand or take it badly… you can finally be yourself and start loving the you that’s always been hidden.

Congratulations to all of you that did it! It’s a big step towards happiness! πŸ™‚

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

