Remind Me…

Remind me to never do that again.

I have the tendency to remember a lot of peoples’ names, even though I’m sure they don’t remember mine. Some people were nice to me, some weren’t so nice, but I remember them.

I figured I’d do some late night Facebook stalking!

What? It isn’t as though you don’t do it too. Why are you looking at me like that? HEY STOP! It isn’t stalking! Stalking would be if I had an obsession, which I definitely don’t.

I randomly thought of someone’s name and looked them up.

Wow.

So, what have I concluded?

Everyone I went to school with/used to know/was friends with is either:

  • Pregnant, or
  • Married/Getting married, or
  • Is travelling the world.

What the heck?

I’m a little jealous of the last one (okay, I’m extremely jealous, that’s something I can only wish for), but… jeez. Sometimes I forget that I’m in my 20’s now and people are living a life completely different than me. They got pregnant early on, they have money, and they were always good looking, so of course they’re getting married!

I’m pretty sure that my train got derailed somewhere along the line and I’m trying to put the pieces back together.

I’m glad I don’t have children. It isn’t that I don’t want them… sort of. I never wanted to get married just to get married – I need to know I’m with the right person. I don’t have a degree, I don’t have a well-paying job, I don’t live by myself, I can’t drive (legally, of course), and all these other people are living these crazy lives…

Even my elders always told me their stories of adventure, mischief, and experience.

THAT’S WHAT I WANT!

I just want to experience things! I hate being stuck in one place! I’m trying so hard to change my life and it doesn’t want to budge! But don’t take me as an ungrateful fool. A lot in my life has gotten better compared to where it used to be even 6 months ago, but that doesn’t mean I can’t yearn and strive for more.

Maybe one day I’ll win the lottery and dreams will come true. Not just for me, but all those dearest to me too…

Leave a Reply

