Review: Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles
Pages: 387
Genre: Fantasy, Sci-fi, Young Adult, Fairy Tales, Re-telling
My Rating: 4/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

11235712

“Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.”

* * *

From a young age, I was obsessed with fairy tales; now, at 21 years old, I still find something about them to be enchanting. When I first heard about Cinder, I was quite excited, albeit a bit skeptical. I do grow weary when it comes to YA novels, mostly due to the [overused] love triangles. I’m happy that I picked Cinder up though!

As you can read in the description of the book, Cinder is a retelling of Cinderella from a completely new perspective! In this book, Cinder is a cyborg mechanic who works to try and stay on her step-mother’s good side. Her only friend is an out-dated android named Iko that has an attitude all her own! Amidst this seemingly normal world, is a plague that is destroying anyone that comes in contact with it, and there’s only one hope of ever curing anyone! Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem like anyone has found a cure… or have they?

Through possible coincidence, Cinder meets the handsome prince Kai. As their world gets intertwined, Cinder’s life becomes more and more complicated, leaving her between a rock and a hard place.

As I stated in the beginning, I do tend to read YA a lot, but I can’t always stomach the romance… Cinder wasn’t full of ridiculous romance. Yes, there’s definitely romance in there, but compared to other YA, it’s quite toned down [thumbs up!]. Meyers did a good job at incorporating the story of Cinderella while keeping the story all her own, because of this, I was glued to the book until I was finished. I must admit, I expected the ending, but it was well-done; in fact, this whole novel was well written.

While it wasn’t perfect – sometimes it seemed too separated from the rest of the story – it was a great short read, and I’m happy I got to read it. I did read this some time ago, but I plan on reading Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) as soon as I get back home! 

If you’re a fan of fairy tales and are looking for something new, definitely check Cinder out.

Enjoy, and happy reading!

8 Comments

  1. I liked this book, I didn’t LOVE it. I think that was because it was so predictable, but how could it not be, really? I’m not sure if I’m going to read Scarlet though. I’ll have to come back and see how you like it.

      • This is where I wish it was possible to take the first three quarters of the book and then create a major plot twist!

        Could you imagine if, in the end, she was actually the queen? I don’t know how it would work but it’d definitely make for an interesting read.

        But having the prince come out as evil would be fantastic! I am so, so tired of the same “good and handsome” boy getting the girl in the end! Or, or, or, he’s evil and programs her to be evil too. Oooh, creative juices are flowing!

      • Okay, I can’t help myself. You HAVE to read Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic. It puts everything you’re saying to the test and dumps typical on its head. It just came out and I was OBSESSED. It’s an adult anti-fairytale really. You would LOVE it.

        You also should just write a new fairytale where all of these wonderfully awful things happen. : )

      • Well, I just added that to my goodreads list! Anti-fairytale, it sounds fantastic! Thank you for adding to my never-ending list of bookdom! Ha!

        Perhaps one day… it’d be like the Brothers Grimm… but weirder… Maybe I should start a club and get everyone to write one! Haha!

Leave a Reply

