Camping

So… we went camping a while ago and after we got back, I was just… on top of the world and didn’t feel like writing.

Originally, we were going to climb the mountain to go to an unnamed lake, but after a few wrong turns and a ridiculously long drive, we finally figured out where we were on the incredibly shitty Googlemaps map, and decided we were way too far away to get there, especially with the amount of gas we had left. By then, it was quite dark out, so we found a clearing and set up a make-shift camp.

It didn’t rain much, but I guess it rained enough… a rainbow came out!

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 045

We dragged rocks to make a fire pit, and it was quite a lovely night. Pitch black, but lovely.

When the morning came, after we ate, we decided it was time to head out to go to our back-up plan place. Down the mountain we went!

Now, I must tell you, my whole goal for this trip, was to see a bear. Every year Friendly Giant and I are up in this area, we never see bears, but everyone else does. We see tons of deer! There’s ALWAYS deer welcoming us (in fact, we almost hit one), which is great, but… bear!

Going down the mountain, I saw a cub! I pointed it out as fast as I could, but Friendly Giant was slow and missed it! It bolted into the woods! It was soooo cute though! …no, I’m not one of those idiots that is going to get out and hug one… STORY TIME!

When I was 5 or 6, we lived in a small community. To get to the small town from the next town over (where the work was), there was a bit of a windy drive. Rock, forest, and a cliff down to a huuuuge lake on the other side. One day (it was getting dark), we were driving along, and in this area it isn’t unusual to see bears, and we looked up ahead and there was a cub! Now, when I was young (perhaps my being thrown into nature is what sparked the curiosity and respect and love of…), it was common knowledge – if there’s a cub around, mama bear’s close behind. The car in front of us stopped and took the bear. They drove a bit forward, maybe a few metres, when suddenly, they stop and hurl the bear out of the car! …okay, I felt bad for the bear. If it attacked them, they totally deserved it! You don’t do that! And contrary to popular belief, it’s highly unlikely that the mother disowned the cub for smelling like a human. Weird, no?

 Anyway, it made me happy.

We made it down the mountain a bit more and saw such a wonderful view.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 052

It was so cool because you could see the town below, as well as the river snaking between the mountains… it was AMAZING! I wish my camera would’ve captured it better! But it was beautiful.

Down we went.

We went to the Asian man’s gas station. I think his name it’s called Yonge’s or something… I forget, but he’s awesome, and his gas lasts foreeeeever! So we did that and went on our way. The funny thing is that we ended up going the way to Plan B when we first were trying to find the right turn for the unnamed lake.

Onward!

To get to the other side, there’s train tracks… of course we hit a train. This train… was bizarre. I don’t mean bizarre, I mean BIZARRE. It was carrying hydrochloric acid, wheat, it had a train car that looked like it had something clawing from the inside… it also had inspirational graffiti, go figure.

Also… TAKING OVER THE WORLD ONE STEP AT A TIME!

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 055

Finally, after taking ages to start moving again, it did, and it left.

On we trekked.

I enjoy driving with Friendly Giant. He goes fast. Vroom vroom.

Also, I’m amazing. I said, “lookin’ fer deer” and they appeared… I used it on Friendly Giant too… but at a later date. It worked!

We kept losing the others, granted, they had a canoe, and have a manual, but still! We kept laughing about that… yes, we’re probably terrible people. Up there, there are… 3 lakes, I believe. They all connect by rapids. It’s definitely glacier water, it’s gorgeous, it tastes delicious, and it’s COLD.

We found a place to set up camp and there we were! It was great fun. We even had the perfect spot for the canoe!

I hadn’t been in a canoe for yeeeeeeears. When I say years, I mean, I was 5 or 6, didn’t get to paddle, and my Dad drove us in circles…

It was great fun though. Sometimes I think I’m a mermaid, I LOVE the water. But being in a canoe was great, and paddling came naturally… such good fun. I’m starting to question why we never owned a canoe as a kid now!

Now, here’s where things get fuzzy. I don’t remember what order this was all in.

At some point, Friendly Giant left to explore. Tim and I went on the canoe and had something terrifying happen to us. It was funny when he freaked out at me putting my camera in the water! It’s water proof, which is what I wanted, but that was fun. We kept seeing people go back and forth on quads and dirt bikes… we waved a lot. We paddled out quite far and saw a tree man! He had a nose and Bart Simpson hair. We decided to smoke a bit of pot, which isn’t a big deal, I do it every so often (great pain reliever, guys). We looked around and started FREAKING OUT. Where… the hell… did the tree man go? Yes, there’s a current, but it was RIGHT THERE. We started laughing while being freaked out. We were looking and looking… we paddled like crazy because we figured we probably drifted away from it. I asked him if that pot was laced, LOL! It was terrifying! Eventually we found the tree man, but I’m convinced that he moved. This might sound like something someone high would say, but, lol, I’m convinced that it moved. We believe in a lot of …other things… so it wouldn’t surprise me at all. …eventually we went back to camp.

Tophat and I had heard something strange, but thought nothing of it.

Friendly Giant had been gone for quite some time and everyone was wondering where he went. I made a comment saying he probably had made a friend, he does that everywhere he goes.

A few minutes later, we see his Jeep go by, and what’s this? There’s a guy in the passenger seat… and he’s waving to us! Tim and I recognized him, we waved to him earlier while he was on a quad.

Shortly after they had passed, there came some people on quads… they were obviously the first guy’s friends.

When Friendly Giant came back, he told us this grand story!

Remember how Tophat and I had heard a noise? Friendly Giant had driven up and found lots of cool things… he went to the top of the mountain and shouted “KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!” as loudly as he could… I’m assuming that’s what we heard.

He told us the tale of how he went up, managed to drive on a hiking trail where a man got angry at him! He continued onward, and found an abandoned logging camp, kept going and found a waterfall, and continued going until the road got super scary… it was super narrow with cliff (cliff with falling rocks)!

On the way back, he had found a man who had his quad break down… so he picked him up, without question, and drove him back down the mountain.

I guess he had tried to get him to come in to drink with him (the man was already drunk out of his mind!), but he said he had friends to get back to, so instead, he dug in his pocket and pulled out a scuffed up beer. He then introduced himself as Craig!

Thus was the tale of Craig.

That night, we got a weird feeling. We all have some sort of ability… that is, we’re able to sense when things are around (for those not catching on, there’s more than just ghosts, but…ghosts [I hate saying ghosts, I say spirits, but hey]). My senses go up when I’m drunk, and everyone had left and I had to shout at something ’cause it was freaking me out. Friendly Giant came back and he felt it too. I had to follow it. I’m really good at pinpointing and understanding what things are, but I just couldn’t for the life of me figure out what it was. It just… was.

Friendly Giant figured out that it came from the top of the mountain. There’s more to this story, but it’s not allowed to go public.

It also was freaky – we found a pair of shoes in the tree!

The next day, we decided to drive. We went to the abandoned logging camp. It was really fascinating, but it felt weird for me. I kept being led around by something, and then I got really upset. After that, I went straight to the Jeep and refused to get out until we were far enough away from it.

I was sad that people destroyed it so much.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 112

There were more buildings but I didn’t take the picture, I didn’t want to do anything there.

We decided to leave and go to the waterfall. It was fun because on the way, I decided to Jeep surf. Friendly Giant’s Jeep has a sun roof and I stood up and stuck my upper body through it. I had to duck and move from side to side, and sometimes entirely get back into the Jeep. It was like a video game… but in real life.

We were then at the waterfall. It’s called Grizzly Falls and it’s quite massive. If you stand near it, even though it’s just slight mist, you get SOAKED. It was beautiful.

I love water.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 122

It tasted delicious too.

Honestly, people are nuts, always boiling everything… certain places, you don’t really need to worry, especially when you’re in such an isolated place. It tastes how water should, not this chlorinated, flourided bullshit we have in our taps.

Anyway, back we went. Honestly, a lot in my head has moulded together, but we all drank. We had weird cotton candy vodka, and whipped vodka (which I made everyone drink! It’s a great mixer). I brought test tube shot glasses, and my favourite thing that we toasted to, we said…

“FOR SCIENCE!”

Also, we made fun of paddle boarders. Seriously? Paddleboarding? Ughhhh. I hate everyone.

Eventually, Friendly Giant had to leave (eww, work), and the rest of us stayed a few more days. I’m still sad. I lost a pair of underwear in the jeep. Sad day.

Tim and I went for a drive. Yes, just the two of us. We drove around, as we were only allowed to go to the rocky bit, but we were convinced to take a side road. We went down it, and it turned out it was a bunch of campsites. We kept going and I thought I saw a bear… but it was only a tree. But it was really dark in there because it was all covered. We kept going on and we came across a pile of firewood. He wanted to leave, but I thought, hey, we found firewood, let’s grab it! Friendly Giant brought pallets, but we had been scrounging for wood otherwise. We got out of the truck super fast, and he felt the ash… it was still warm, but just barely. So we started hauling ass and throwing the wood into the back of the truck. We almost left but then I pointed out the chopping block (it was a giant stump). We grabbed it and strapped it into the back seat. Yes, we put a seatbelt on it. His name was Tommy.

Back at camp, we had a great few days, nights. We went back up to the waterfall a few times, talked about random things… FOUND, some really bizarre things… and overall, it was just a ridiculously fun trip.

Also, I won the endurance test. SCREW YOU ALL!

Here’s some random pictures from the actual camping part.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 154

Isn’t it a pretty colour?

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 168

This was Jeremy the caterpillar.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 184

This was Samantha. It hitched a ride on my hand while we were driving and refused to leave until I got out and made it go onto a flower. Then it finally flew away.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 195

At one point, there was smoke on the water.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 208

On the last day, we burnt everything we had left and had a huge fire.

On the way home, we decided to get something to eat. After driving back and forth, we came to this olde inn.

We all got fish and chips… it was delicious! And the place looked amazing. Good old feeling.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 213

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 215

And before we went home, I wanted to stop at the Alexandra bridge. It originally was built in the 1800s and was used as a major bridge. It’s over the raging Fraser River. Many people have died because of this river. The first one was apparently destroyed in a flood, but this one was built in 1900 something and is definitely of European decent. It was gorgeous, though, walking on it while looking down was terrifying, it’s all grates and you get really dizzy.

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 229

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 252

Camping Nahatlatch 2013 255

A lot of fun times were had. And we kept finding stone animals. But it was really fun, and I can’t wait to go camping again.

Leave a Reply

