Cupcake Cones!

Have I ever mentioned that I love baking? I do, I love to cook, but more than that, I love to bake. I’m really quite good at it too, not to brag, but it’s a talent that I’m glad I have. I’ve even sent M baked goods for Christmas and birthdays – he’s enjoyed that.

Today (well, I BAKED them last night) I made…

CUPCAKE CONES!

005

I got this idea in my head quite a while ago, to put batter in ice cream cones. I’m sure I’m not the only person who’s ever done this, but I thought it was fun. And since it’s close, I kind of gave them an Easter theme.

So what do you do?

Grab your favourite cake/cupcake recipe, or if you’re lazy, grab a boxed cake mix.

This isn’t the recipe I used, but it’s a pretty simple vanilla cake recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (250mL) white sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125mL) butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup (375mL) all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (125mL) milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F (175° C).
  2. In medium bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the milk until batter is smooth. Pour or spoon batter into the prepared pan.
  3. For cupcakes, bake 20 to 25 minutes. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch.

You can use any cake recipe you want though (you could even colour the cupcake different colours to look like ice cream!). You’ll want ice cream cones with flat bottoms – it doesn’t matter how big or how small or the colour/flavour.

Inside of your ice cream cone, you’ll want to fill the batter just before the line. There is a line in the cone where the bottom, round part is and the curved part begins. Basically, you want to fill it up until you reach “the cup”.

You’ll bake these for 20-25 minutes (I found 25 was better, but everyone’s oven is different).

Wait for them to cool… then the fun part… decorate away!

004

I had been using a new tool to ice, so you can see it starts messier then gets neater and neater…

These are a lot of fun, especially for kids! I gave my neighbour’s kids a cone each and their faces just completely lit up. Hopefully they weren’t too bad, I cheated and used packaged icing because we were out of icing sugar… shhhh.

These are also better served the same day unless you find a way to wrap them up. It doesn’t affect the flavour or anything, but the cones have the tendency to get a bit stale, which is fine by me, lol.

So… yeah!

Enjoy!

Happy baking!

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

