Share With Me!

Share this time with me as I tell you something so amazing, so wonderful… Just, take part with me, I want to share with you.

I was diagnosed with PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) at 17. I had symptoms before that and one of the biggest ones had to do with my weight. I had spinal surgery at 10 and it took me a very long time to recover (I’m still not fully there yet, they screwed up badly). When I was 12, I was still having a hard time, but that’s the year I got my period. My weight BALLOONED! I don’t mean that I gained 10 or 15 lbs, I mean that I went from 130/140 to 180, then 190, then 200, then over that! I gained a lot of weight and I gained it in a relatively short amount of time. Gaining 70lbs over 3 or 4 years isn’t healthy at all. And it isn’t as though I wasn’t active. For my spine being a piece of crap, I did a lot.

My highest weight, to this day, has been 271lbs.

Though people say I never looked that big, I was, and it was embarrassing. It was hard because it would seem that I had to never eat and exercise till I fell down just to maintain that weight, and obviously because of the spinal issues, exercising isn’t the easiest task. I never wanted to get to the 300 mark.

My gynaecologist was a bitch. Sorry for the language, but she was a real bitch. I remember this one thing that happened and I just wanted to slap her… eventually I became a bitchy patient.

She had put me on birth control (the first one was hell) and Spironolactone. The anti-androgen never worked for me, but I continue to be on that birth control. Still, I continued to gain weight.

I’m a researcher, it’s just what I do. I’ve had so many problems with doctors that I’ve found if I don’t research and figure things out for myself, nothing will ever get done. I found out about Metformin. Normally, Metformin is for those with diabetes, but it can help with weight and for some reason, it helped those with PCOS. I didn’t exactly understand why at the time.

She refused to send me for the proper blood-work, and needless to say, I quit going to her. It wasn’t until last year that I started taking this medication. I went to my family doctor and said, “look, I have PCOS, I’m gaining weight, can I please have Metformin?” He gave it to me. I also got blood work done.

As it turns out, I’m insulin resistant. Me gaining weight wasn’t entirely my fault. I used to get so upset that I would starve myself because I would just gain and gain and gain… These pills have helped me tremendously though.

Last year, I had lost 30lbs. I went from 271 to 241. I noticed a big difference in my body. Things were just… smaller. My body, obviously, isn’t petite or anything (and I’m tall and big-boned to boot!), but a lot of weight came off. I didn’t really notice until pants started sitting wrong, and then I looked at my body and was like, “oh… WOW!” I was SO proud of myself! It was AWESOME!

For some reason, I had stopped taking them. It was either because I forgot or the pharmacy screwed up, I can’t quite remember.

I shot up to 260. Good lord. Now I look fat again.

I was so upset!

I kept working on it and it took a long time, and for the past 3 weeks I’ve been in the 245-250 range. Today, I decided to weigh myself. The scale says 241. I’m back at the weight I was at.

This means, my blood sugar levels are coming down. This means, I’m getting further and further away from having any serious health problems. THIS MEANS, I’m that much closer to my goal (only 60lbs to go…). God, I am so bloody excited, I wanted to share with EVERYONE!

No, I normally don’t share my weight with people, and it probably seems embarrassing, especially considering I’m larger, but you know what? It isn’t embarrassing and if it offends you, that’s your problem. My weight shouldn’t bother you at all, it has nothing to do with you.

I’m just happy.

Today is a good day.

If you have PCOS and you’re feeling discouraged, don’t. Maybe Metformin can help you too!

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

