I’m A Proud Big Sister

Most people say they’re proud when their baby brother gets his wife pregnant, or when their sister gets engaged. My siblings are much too young for that, so don’t even think about that! But I am proud of them. Very proud.

When my Brother was still going to school in Alderhell, he went through testing to see if he could be placed in “gifted classes” when he moved here. Things happened, but they said more testing was needed. So now my Brother is in a new school in a new city and he went for another test. He passed. Him and the parentals have a meeting on Tuesday to see where he goes from here. My Brother is ridiculously intelligent for his age. He just turned 13 and he’s teaching ME things. He’s also very cynical. Maybe he’ll grow up killing people… uhhh, let’s hope not.

While I’m proud of my Brother, I’m extremely proud of my Sister. She works her butt off at school. I mean, WORKS HER BUTT OFF. She found out that she’ll be on the A-Honour roll again this semester. I am so proud. She has worked so hard for this and at last, all of her hard work is paying off. I remember when her dyslexia got the better of her and she wanted to give up because it was too hard… look where she is now.

Proud sista!

Oh dear lord, this is a terrifying commercial.

Moving on…

2013-02-14 21.21.05

 

I make my bed and guess who immediately has to jump on it. That girl does. Leah, Leah, Leah. It obviously smelled too clean so she rolled all over it, kicking and flipping all over.

What a cutie though. That’s one thing that’s always stuck with Leah, she is unbelievably adorable. She was even cuter when she was a puppy, she even had rotti colouring on her!

Eh, I’ll show you a picture of that too.

282249_10151078962261430_971053824_n

She was such a tiny little ball. She had a squishy face and a big bum – she couldn’t even get her butt on the porch. But despite her size, she was always a daredevil. She would jump off of things and run around.

She was a scaredy-cat though. Her own bark scared her. And the cutest thing? While she was sleeping she would have dreams (she still does) and go a-woooooooo!

Leah will be 1 year old on the 21st of this month. She’s like a child, I even contemplated making a doggy cake. Lame, but that’s okay. All of my friends are having children and getting married and here I am. I have M, in a way, and I have Leah. Leah can be a big pain in the butt, but it’s hard to stay mad at her.

I’m actually very proud of her. Since my walking isn’t the greatest, I’ve been teaching her “slow” and “stop” so when we’re walking, she’ll be calm. I need her to walk beside me, or at least with a loose leash. I can’t handle all the pulling, it nearly topples me over!

The picture to the left was taken around the 3 month mark. I’m a little sad that she lost the black colouring, but she still has her white toe.

Bah! She is so cute!

Actually, while I’m at it, I should add my favourite Leah picture. Leah has a very “readable” face. You can tell when she’s happy and when she’s sad. She doesn’t really get mad, she’s tough behind glass, but she’s never wanted to kill anyone before… though I wish she had. Sometimes we get crackheads on our porch, I wish she’d attack them. I know, that’s terrible, but people shouldn’t be trespassing and stealing things!

IMG525

This was the very first picture I ever took of her. Isn’t she ADORABLE? I love how she’s smiling more than anything. I wish I had a better phone at the time, I would have taken way more pictures. At the time, my phone didn’t even have flash.

Yes, all you photographers out there are going to be mean, but you don’t need an SLR or other fancy camera to take good photos, you just need an eye… that and my camera kind of crapped out on me. Wellllll, it’s not so much that either, it’s the fact that it eats batteries and it doesn’t take the quality photos I want. My next point and shoot will be a Nikon, if I can find the one I want.

Anyway! She was just this little ball of happiness. She always wanted to cuddle, and she’d cry if you weren’t around her. Actually, she still cries if she isn’t around people. She’s kind of a baby, but I like it that way. I want a dog that loves me and is happy I’m around. Sometimes it gets irritating though. Oh! And look, her legs are crossed! Perfect little lady!

Today was Valentine’s Day. I never really celebrate it. It’s overrated and I see no point, I show I care everyday. Like I said in a previous post though, I love having an excuse to do something out of the ordinary.

My Mom got flowers. They smell delicious. Well, it’s not so much that they have a nice, fragrant scent; they smell like flowers. Green and full of life.

2013-02-14 22.53.33

I took a picture of these too. I thought they were pretty.

I’ve never actually received flowers. I asked my Mom what it felt like, she said it feels good, like you’re cared about, especially if it’s unexpected. Maybe one day I’ll receive them. Personally, I’d rather plant them or pick them myself. I love picking flowers. My favourite flowers are stargazer lilies, the same as my Nana’s.

That was one thing I always loved about my Nana’s house – she always had fresh flowers. I loved the way they looked, the way they smelled… I miss that. Whenever I move out on my own, I’m going to have flowers. For the time being though, I’ll just plant my own.

My goal this year is to have a spice garden. I want chive and mint above all else though. I used to eat chive straight from the garden. I’ll probably plant flowers too, but I have to get rid of all the grass and weeds that have taken over the circle.

I love gardening. Spiders, not so much.

I’m close to finishing my essay. I think I may have to revise some of it. I’m explaining more than sprouting my ideas, which is a big no-no, but I think it’s coming along. I’m trying my hardest to write it in present tense too!

This “suicide prevention” week is almost over so I better get all the sleep in that I can. Lately, my nights consist of watching cooking shows, drinking tea, and talking to M at work… and reading. I sound like an old woman… at least I haven’t told you I learned how to knit yet. Whoops, out of the bag. I’ve been reading House of Leaves and it is one of the oddest books I’ve ever read. Seriously, it’s so bizarre. Sometimes I don’t even know what’s going on. I don’t know whether Zampano even existed at this point, and the dark labyrinth of house and the random growls are freaking me out. Talk about psychological thriller.

I’ve decided I’m going to make posts on all of my animals. I think that’ll be fun. My Thumper post will probably be ridiculously long, but don’t fret, there’ll be a lot of fun pictures. Like my “cat in the hat” picture.

I think I should quit writing now though. If anyone made it this far, I applaud you.

Leave a Reply

