Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

February 5th

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

***

Considering the only way I stay in contact with M is through my phone, well, or mail… in some ways it is a lifeline. I’m glad I live in the day and age where someone I care about is a button push away. At times I get irritated because, really, I don’t always want to be bothered, but for the most part, it’s a good thing to have. This doesn’t mean I’m on it 24/7 or anything, but I quite enjoy having it.

* * *

Today wasn’t that interesting. My back has really started hurting again, probably due to the weather we’re having. I had to leave school early because I couldn’t bare sitting for another 3+ hours in one of those crappy plastic chairs. Really, those things are terrible. And speaking of school, I’m feeling quite confident on my quizzes. One was on commas, sometimes, yes, I’m sure people would say I use them too often, but I think I did fairly well. The same goes for the literary terms. Thanks to my Sister and her helping me with flashcards, I’m certain I got most, if not all, correct!

We’re going to be working on our essays soon. I chose to do mine on “The Cathedral” and how the blind man affects the narrator. It’s probably the longest short story we’ve read so far, but it was the one that spoke the most to me. Have I ever mentioned how much I dislike essays? Even in high school. I’m capable of them, but I just don’t like doing them. And another thing, I was always taught to use past tense for writing exercises, now all of a sudden we’re being forced into using the present tense. Using the present tense has definitely screwed me over a bit.

Things can only get better, right? They can’t get any worse than they are now, right?

I don’t think I could handle anything getting worse right now. Blek.

Oh, and I discovered that driving while it’s dark and rainy isn’t a fun task. You can barely see the road and all of the other light reflections completely mess with your vision! I still have my L, so I can’t drive on my own yet, and I haven’t been driving a lot recently, which I’ll need to if I want to get my N before August…

What a strange thing to do though. I can see why neither my Mom nor W like it.

I’m also reading “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children”. I’ve found it interesting so far, despite noticing grammatical errors and the like. If there’s one or two, I can deal with it, but when it becomes every page, I have to quit reading. This book was obviously written for a younger audience, but it has the potential to be great. The eerie pictures are a great bonus too!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

