Song of the Week: Alice Cooper – Ballad of Dwight Fry

It occurred to me, I should probably be putting a reasoning behind my song of the week. I listen to multiple songs, obviously, but if I’m feeling a certain way throughout the week, or something really stands out to me on Sunday, that’s what I put.

This week’s song (yes, I know I’m a day late):

Last year, I landed myself in the psych ward and it has to be one of the scariest experiences of my life to date.

So many white walls, people constantly checking in on you, no windows, one exit, people telling you to do this or that… The only thing you can really do is sleep. Sure, there was a TV, but I didn’t really feel like interacting with the other people there… and most of them were worse than I was.

There was one girl that had OCD. She constantly paced back and forth, 7 times, while turning the water on and off, on and off a certain number of times, going to the washroom every 3rd pace… that was my entertainment, watching this poor girl do her routine over and over and over…

There was one woman that kept talking to the nurses because she was anxious and paranoid that her bank card had gone missing.

And speaking of nurses… get it together, nurses! The psychiatric nurses are some of the worst I’ve ever dealt with. They were all pushy and all aroundĀ mean. Except one. A larger man with a white beard and glasses. He was nice, he even got a hold of my Mom so that I could be released…

Talking to the doctor was the worst thing. I was actually worried I was going to have to spend another night in the ward because he was so late. It’s easy to manipulate them into believing what you want. He was so rude though. Just, ugh, so rude. The nurse aforementioned accompanied me when I went to see him and even agreed he was rude.

Anyway, this is the song that kept running through my mind over and over again.

“I… wanna get out of here. I… I’ve gotta, I’ve gotta get outta here!”

Leave a Reply

