Daily Prompt: I Got Skills

January 22nd

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

A master of any skill… That’s a tough one. The first thing that comes to mind is language. I have a thing for culture, history and the like, and I’ve always wanted to travel, so having great skill when it comes to language would be a great thing to have.

As I get older, I realize that not just learning a language, but becoming fluent in it is a difficult thing to do. I was taught French for 4 years and still never mastered it… though, I moved around a lot so every system was different… and I wasn’t interested in it at the time. I had this thing in my mind where French meant frogs – don’t ask me why, I was a kid and it made me laugh.

I can still speak French, just don’t expect to hold an exceptionally long conversation with me. And even then, if I were to go to France, it’d be useless because it’s Quebecois, so I’m sure people from France would laugh at me… But I’m sure I could just change the dialect, right?! I’m going to Montreal in May, and M doesn’t speak even a little bit of French. Apparently there’s more English speakers there than say Quebec City, but I’m sure it’ll be helpful to know a little bit, and at least I can read it!

Anyway, a bit off topic, but I’d love to master languages. I would love to be fluent in more than one. The next one on my list to take on is German; I can speak and read a little bit but definitely nowhere near fluent.

Of course there are other things I’d love to be a master of, but like I said: first thing that came to mind. Not to mention, I think it’d be a great skill to have!

Amour

(random internet picture)

Leave a Reply

