Daily Prompt: Breaking The Law

January 20th

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

You know, I don’t even know what I did that was breaking the law.

Smoking pot? I guess that’s illegal, though I don’t really consider it so because I’m not an idiot about it. I use it for pain, I should really go medicinal, it’s the only thing that seems to help, which kind of sucks…

I’ve never been caught though.

But let me tell you a funny story anyway!

I was 13 or 14 years old and had just moved to a new town. About a block away from my house was a library – I loved that, reading is one of my hobbies. Well, my best friend at the time came over and we decided we’d go hang out. The library was open ’til 9, and my house was kind of boring – no phone, no internet, no cable, no anything! So we went to get some books and play around on the computers.

We left about 8:45 and found that there was a skate park just behind the library, it was also next to the high school and so we figured it’d be a safe place to be. Library, school, field, skate park, it sounded fun.

So we’re sitting around talking, looking at the stars when we see a light.

Bicycle cop.

Whatthe-?!

There’s two of them and they came around asking why we were out and what we had in the bags (I took out a lot of books…). I was almost offended, what did I do wrong? Apparently there was a curfew and it was bad that we were out so late. Uhh, how was I supposed to know? This was my second week living here! I tried to cooperate and was even like, “we were at the library, there’s only books, see?”

As they were leaving, my friend turns to me and says, “what? Are they going to arrest us and put us in their little baskets?” Hahaha, that was so funny… bad, but funny.

After living there for a few years, I understood why they did that though. There were a lot of hooligans around, the town is full of drugs, sex, just… not nice things. It was the best and worst place I’ve ever lived. It’s even worse now, someone got stabbed there the other day. And this is a small town, you blink your eyes and you’ll miss it. Okay, it’s not THAT small, but it’s not that big either!

Leave a Reply

