Um, What?!

Math.

The worst subject for me.

I’ve always struggled with mathematics, I don’t know why, I just have. Numbers, logic… none of it makes sense! Apparently there’s a correlation between math and spina bifida, which I found to be intriguing. For the average person with spina bifida, we have average to above average IQ’s, excel in English and the likes, but struggle when it comes to math, and I usually don’t believe in those types of studies, but realistically, it makes sense. I don’t know if some part of the brain is affected that makes this happen, at first I’d say, “shunt!” …I don’t have one of those. I also don’t have chiari malformation, so I don’t know how it happens, it was just an interesting study.

ImageI

I don’t know if I should feel proud or ashamed…

Right now, as embarrassing as it is, I’m about a grade 9 math level, which as terrible as it is to say, is about true. I understand some things at a higher level, but I’m struggling even now, it’s legitimately difficult to me, so difficult it makes my brain spin.

So about feeling ashamed or proud… I’ve been asking my siblings for help. My sister is currently in 9th grade, so she knows a bit about what I’m doing and she’s helped me a ton already. My brother is in 7th grade and he’s a math whiz. Tonight, I explained a concept to him that he didn’t know and as soon as he heard it, he started figuring out the answers, correctly might I add, and was explaining how he got them to me.

Well slap my ass and call me a chinchilla.

I’m glad that my siblings have been able to help me. The teacher I currently have isn’t that great at explaining things, Barb explained in a way I seemed to understand, but the problem I have with the current teacher is that it seems she gets annoyed or frustrated if you don’t grasp the concept right away. I’m sitting there going “…okay… still confused…” There’s a woman doing her practicum in the class, and while I don’t know why exactly she’s in a math class, she’s been a big help and doesn’t get so frustrated because she’s learning just the same, so that’s been nice.

Laurie has also been kind enough to lend me her notes. She was in higher levels than I and is really good at math, but she took notes on eeeeverything. That’s going to be a big help because learning in a different manner is sometimes the biggest help you can get. Now I’m really glad that I have her in a class this semester.

So what’s left? 3 more sections of 062 then 063, 075. 076, and apparently I also need 084… If I can finish at least to 076, I can take 084 next semester and finally be done with school…

Crossing my fingers for that one.

Leave a Reply

