Daily Prompt: Teacher’s Pet

January 8th

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

There are so many teachers I could talk about… so, so many…

I always tried to get on the good side of whoever was teaching. I was a smart kid and always liked having my marks reflect that. I think I could talk about a few different teachers.

In 5th and 6th grade, I had a teacher named Mrs. Rude. Now, despite having her name sound, well, rude, she was quite the opposite. When I started school with her, I was the new kid, again, so I was shy, quiet, and kept to myself a lot.

Mrs. Rude helped through a lot. I could ask questions (though, I usually chose not to), she was helpful, kind, and overall a wonderful teacher. She even put up with my crap the following year. I went through some sort of attitude change in 6th grade and she still fought for me.

There’s so many great teachers that I’ve had. Mrs. Manning, Mrs. Stewart, Mrs. Rude, Mr. Caldwell, Mrs. G, Mr. Pernat, Ms. Sprout, Mr. Summers… and my most recent favourite being a college math professor named Barb. Barb really helped me with math, I wish she was my teacher again this semester.

These people helped me achieve my goals at the time and I really respected them as human beings. I learned that not all authority was bad, and I also made the decision that if no respect was given, I wasn’t reciprocating.

Now, those were all great people, but then…

The darker side…

In 7th grade, I was the new kid, again (yes, I moved a lot). I was trying my hardest to fit in and get along with people, and socially, things went quite well.

I had a teacher named Ms. Knowles.

Worst. Teacher. Ever.

When copying things off the board, we’d all have the same answers; mine would be marked lower. She never called on me in class, she blatantly made fun of me (and not in the joking manner teachers sometimes use) and she made my life a living hell. Everything, just everything I did was terrible. She was the worst teacher I’ve ever had in my entire life. It wasn’t until my mom made a fit about things and found out about her dark history… then things started getting better!

There was also another woman named Mrs. Crossen. She wasn’t exaaaactly a teacher, but she worked within the school.

Anything you told her, despite supposedly being confidential, was not. If you told her, everyone knew about it. She would lie to me, tell me that I had to do things I didn’t…

In fact, a big reason I haven’t gotten my diploma yet is because of her. She didn’t give me the correct information on achieving my adult dogwood, but instead made me take classes I didn’t need, and actually, what really pissed me off was she gave me a class to take and after I had handed it all in, none of it was what I was supposed to have done, and because of that, I didn’t get the chance to graduate at all. That wasn’t fair at all. She really screwed me over, and while I’m not one to generally hold grudges, I hold one against her.

A big one.

Then there are teachers that I’ve had that aren’t your professional type. I learn things from everyone. That is a whole other story though!

So could my life have been different? Probably. But it is what it is so I’ll just keep rolling with it!

Leave a Reply

