Daily Prompt: My Favourite

January 6th

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favourite person? Tell us about it.

My favourite person… would probably have to be M.

If I had to talk about just anyone, I’d have to admit that there are times where I don’t see my friends for months at a time. Though we all live within a one-hour radius, there have been times I’ve sat here alone, watching everyone do things, for 6 months or more at a time! Friends… Hmph.

The longest I’ve been apart from M would have to be a dreadfully painful 3 month period. We were having a lot of difficulty, the Disaster (and yes, I named it so it has a capital D) was still wedging in between us and many things were happening that I really wish never happened at all.

I was having a mental breakdown. Plain and simple. I was so broken down that I was allowing others to make decisions for me. I never wanted to leave M, but I did, and those 3 months were hell. I did plenty of things during that period of time; I talked to people, I had fun, I even went camping! But deep inside, I was probably the most depressed I’d ever been. Even while camping I was drinking so heavily… the alcohol was taken away from me. And yes, that is a terrible time to drink, but it made sense at the time.

During my time away from M, I managed to find the help I probably needed. M was someone I depended on for everything, and in the end, I realize that it was probably too much for one person to handle.

I had to freak out on someone within the hospital to get a referral and that led me down the path of group therapy. Group therapy. Ha! What a stupid idea…

I never wanted to go to that fatuous piece of crap. I don’t like talking around people I don’t know, nor should I have to! So I exaggerated when it was time so that I could get the psychiatrist no one was willing to give me before.

“How often do you think of suicide?”

Do you really want me to answer that?

I never went back. But I still see said psychiatrist to this day. And just because he receives honourable mention… until he brings up lithium again… 

Kaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!

Or, so everyone who’s ever heard about him has said and done. Who ever said I had nerdy friends?

Anyway, that was one of the hardest points in my life. Who’da thunk it? Someone means so much to you you just go absolutely insane when they’re not around. Much was learned from the whole situation though, and let’s all pray it doesn’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

