Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

January 5th

Take the first sentence from your favourite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. That hobbit was me. Though, I don’t quite match the description; I’m 5’11, my feet aren’t hairy, I don’t live in the ground, and I don’t have multiple breakfasts; in fact, I hate breakfast!

This year I thought I’d do something new. There’s these daily prompt things. Apparently they’ve been around for a while, but I’m new to blogging and sometimes I just don’t feel like writing about what happened to me or what I’m thinking about. So now, I have made it my goal to write a post every single day. I will still add in my other stuff as I go along, but for now, I’m doing these daily prompts and will continue to do them. They’re fun so why not, right?

Today, well, around midnight, which, since I hadn’t slept yet is still yesterday to me, I finished The Hobbit for the millionth time. It’s my favourite book now, and has been my favourite book since I was a child. I love going on the adventure with Bilbo and Gandalf, Fili and Kili, Bombur, Thorin and Balin… I could continue, but I think I’ll stop there. It brings you to a world you wish you could be apart of, as scary as it can be at times. So with that said, I started a new book. This novel was given to me for Christmas. I’m a big fan of fantasy, dystopian, sci-fi and the like. This book is called “Bloodring”, which is apparently “a rogue mage novel”… is that the series? I don’t know…

Image

Bloodring is starting off a little slow. It’s about a woman, well, more an unlicensed mage, who’s living in some sort of post-apocalyptic world where she has to hide who she really is (with the help of amulets); there are humans that are killing each other off (what’s new there?), seraphs, and, though I haven’t gotten far enough to know exactly what they’re called, spawn, which I might as well just call demons. The writing style also reminds me a lot of my sister’s. She might not always be grammatically correct, but she has a wild imagination. Check her out: http://greaserchick19.wordpress.com/

I think I’ll continue to work my way though this book, it seems like it could have a lot of potential. If not, I’m switching back to the series A Song of Ice and Fire. I finished A Game of Thrones not too long ago and finished the first chapter of, what I believe is, A Clash of Kings, and my goodness, the series is great! I just have a problem with sticking to one thing, I tend to jump around a lot when it comes to things like reading and video games. It’s just like I read the first book and a half of the Mortal Instruments series (don’t laugh, it was actually good), then I just quit…

I suppose we’ll see where this goes…

Leave a Reply

