Daily Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

January 1st.

Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

Okay, so I know I’m doing this a little bit late, but I’m a tad bit OCD and needed to start from the very beginning.

On the last day of 2012, I found myself sitting in my room alone, reflecting on the previous year and what 2013 had to offer me. I didn’t say “Happy New Year” to anyone, now that I think about it, not on time anyway.

532215_530273690317356_1787017625_n

My Aunt drunk texted me somewhere throughout the night. Probably around 9pm my time, as she’s on the other side of the continent. That really made me giggle.

Was I where I wanted to be?

No… not exactly. I would have much rather been with M, somewhere… happy, somewhere not solitary, though I was alone by choice.  Though to be more philosophical, I wasn’t where I wanted to be emotionally either, I wasn’t ready for the end of the year, I don’t know if enough improvement was made. I won’t let the last night of the year decide my fate for the new year though, 2013 will be better, 2013 will be the year dreams come true!

Leave a Reply

