Daily Prompt: Resolved

January 2nd.

Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

When it comes to New Year’s resolutions, I never really make any. I always say, “this is going to be the year!” and random things like that, but it’s usually throughout the year that I really decide I’m going to do something.

This year I hope to keep my resolutions. I actually made some.

Like most, losing weight and getting healthy are on the top of their lists. For me, I’ve been wanting to lose weight for a while, but I’ve never sat down and said to myself, “this is how it’s going to be, and this is what you’re going to do.” I’ve actually been scared into changing my lifestyle.

Living with my family, it’s quite difficult to eat a certain way. That’s not to say we eat out often, because we don’t, but because there are so many people, I find us eating the same foods every day, many of which I don’t like.

When it hit me that my health was in jeopardy, I wanted to make a change… yes, I feel guilty every time I eat a cookie. But I don’t want to have diabetes, I want to have a family some day (well, maybe), and better still, I want to be more mobile. I don’t know if losing weight would really help my mobility as it’s been in declination for years, but I think it could be a good starting point.

After going on a documentary/research binge, I found out what is really happening with our food, our water, and really, I could sit here for ages, going on and on as to why I just don’t want to eat it anymore. If anyone’s interested, a good starting point is a documentary called Food Inc., if you’re unaware what is happening, it will be a real eye-opener for you. And while I can’t afford to eat an all-organic diet, I’d like to make a change.

food-inc-poster

So aside from the whole, “get healthy, get smaller” scheme mentality, I’m also making a goal to LIVE healthier. As in spiritually, mentally, emotionally. I’m a terrible person to myself, really, I am, and things just need to change. I also need to stand up for myself when it comes to doctors, just a tad bit more… Overall, I just wish to be a better person.

Anyway, as far as keeping to resolutions, I never have before, but I believe there’s a first for everything, and this will (hopefully) be my year.

Leave a Reply

