Daily Prompt: Quote Me

January 4th

Do you have a favourite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

I love, love, love quotes. I read them all the time, I go out of my way to find them, and I even, at one point, had a book that held all the ones I found and liked. It’s a bit difficult to choose one, but at this particular moment:

“If you love two people at the same time, choose the second. Because if you really loved the first one, you wouldn’t have fallen for the second.”

– Johnny Depp

Now I know that seems a bit bizarre, and from my perspective, that’s only common sense. I’ve only ever loved one person at one time and that’s how I believe it should be. Nowadays, however, it seems as though people cheat more often, they’re having children at younger ages, and as saddening as this is, more and more people are going from person to person and questioning their feelings when they’re already in a committed relationship.

Why does this quote move me? Because I live by it. A lot of my friends have this problem where they say they’re crazy about this girl, but then they say they love another. I sit there shaking my head because it makes absolutely no sense to me! None! None whatsoever! If you love someone, you don’t love another person, you just don’t, it doesn’t work that way, which makes me think that a lot of these people can’t comprehend the feeling of love, or at least, they haven’t felt it yet.

Sometimes I just show people a picture of this quote, and yes, there’s pictures of it floating around, but they still fail to see the truth in it. They say I just “haven’t experienced it yet”, or “only stay with the familiar”.

It’s the same thing with people who cheat on their spouse. If you’re unhappy in the relationship, just leave, don’t do things behind their back that do, or should, make you feel guilty! It’s like when people talk about what marriage means to someone. To me, it’s a relationship between two people and only those two people, it doesn’t include a third person, or a fourth, and when you’re married, why are you questioning if you’re in love with somebody else?!

This subject just really irks me. But I enjoy the quote because it makes sense to me, and I really wish more people understood it.

Leave a Reply

